Sectur promotes the Huasteca Potosina as a new tourist destination


The Secretariat of Tourism (Sectur) announced a series of measures for the Huasteca Potosina to become a new tourist destination, and that aims to improve economic activity in the region, in addition to achieving that annually 300 thousand tourists arrive.

The Huasteca Potosina is located between the states of San Luis Potosí, Tamaulipas, Veracruz, Hidalgo, Puebla and Querétaro.

Miguel Torruco, head of the Secretariat of Tourism (Sectur), reported on Wednesday that they will start from two studies, which are the Master Plan for Integral Tourism Development of the Huasteca Potosina and the Master Plan of the Center for Sustainable Tourism Development.

He explained that both plans will allow to identify, with a vision that covers from 2022 to 2040, the requirements of basic infrastructure and services of the tourist sites already consolidated, as well as the tourist attractions of the 20 municipalities likely to develop in the short, medium and long term.

“It seeks to turn the Huasteca Potosina into an icon of nature in Mexico to support tourism activity, through the integration of a technical, legal, financial, environmental, social, economic and infrastructure and urban image diagnosis,” the official said.

In a videoconference, he explained that the analysis will have as a fundamental premise the development of a sustainable tourism strategy that allows communities to participate in the economy of the region and propose tourism products, as well as strategic investment projects in tourism infrastructure.

Thus, he pointed out that the main objectives are to expand in five years the hotel plant of the region, with 2 thousand new hotel rooms of tourist category, incorporate 300 thousand new tourists a year, generate an annual economic outpouring in the area of one thousand thirty million pesos.

It was also proposed to create 7 thousand new permanent jobs and boost other economic activities in the region such as agriculture, livestock and handicrafts, among others, and diversify tourism.

Traditionally the state has been divided into 4 regions: Altiplano, Centro, Media and Huasteca. These are made up of the following municipalities.Altiplano: Catorce , Cedral , Charcas , Guadalcázar , Matehuala , Moctezuma , Salinas , Santo Domingo , Vanegas , Venado , Villa de Arista , Villa de Guadalupe , Villa Hidalgo , Villa de la Paz , Villa de Ramos .Center: Ahualulco , Armadillo de los Infante , Cerro de San Pedro , Mexquitic de Carmona , San Luis Potosí , Santa María del Río , Soledad de Graciano Sánchez , Tierranueva , Villa de Arriaga , Villa de Reyes , Zaragoza .Media: Alaquines , Cárdenas , Cerritos , Ciudad del Maíz , Ciudad Fernández , Lagunillas , Rayón , Rioverde , San Ciro de Acosta , Santa Catarina, Villa Juárez , San Nicolás Tolentino .Huasteca: Aquismón , Axtla de Terrazas , Ciudad Valles , Coxcatlán , Ebano , El Naranjo , Huehuetlán , Matlapa , San Antonio , San Martín Chalchicuautla , San Vicente Tancuayalab , Tamasopo , Tamazunchale , Tampacán , Tampamolón Corona , Tamuín , Tancanhuitz de Santos , Tanlajás , Tanquián de Escobedo , Xilitla .However, in order to adequately articulate sector programs and enhance the productive and social development capacities of all regions, it has been proposed to adopt 10 micro-regions, based on the following criteria.1.- The first criterion is that of the Economic Exchange Centers. Locate localities that, in the current conditions of the state, function as urban centers of economic, commercial and service exchange, where people go to buy and sell products, to be employed in different economic branches, to satisfy their needs for consumption and to receive educational and health services.2.- The second criterion is the Productive Profile. Identify similar and complementary economic activities and potentialities, especially between the productive axes (agricultural, industrial or service), as the basis of commercial exchange and main activities that generate employment and income for the population.3.- The third criterion used was the Exchange System. Identify the conditions through the network of federal and state highways and rural roads, which determine the traffic and the relations of the population and of the production between the commercial exchange centers and their areas of influence.4.- The fourth criterion was that of the Geopolitical Division. Define the coverage of the microregions, always respecting the municipal geopolitical division to facilitate statistical analysis, institutional coordination and the agreement of municipal management with other levels of government.In this way, the 10 proposed microregions are the following:Altiplano-EastCatorce , Cedral , Guadalcázar , Matehuala , Vanegas , Villa de Guadalupe , Villa de la Paz .Altiplano-WestSalinas , Santo Domingo , Villa de Ramos .Altiplano-CenterCharcas , Moctezuma , Venado , Villa de Arista .CenterAhualulco , Armadillo de los Infante , Cerro de San Pedro , Mexquitic de Carmona , San Luis Potosí ,   San Nicolás Tolentino , Santa María del Río , Soledad de Graciano Sánchez , Tierranueva , Villa de Arriaga , Villa de Reyes , illa de Hidalg o , Zaragoza .MidwestCerritos , Ciudad Fernández , Rioverde , San Ciro de Acosta , Villa Juárez .Middle-EastAlaquines , Cárdenas , Corn City , Lagunillas , Rayón , Santa Catarina .Huasteca-NorthCiudad Valles , Ébano , El Naranjo , Tamasopo , Tamuín , Tanquián de Escobedo , San Vicente TancuayalabHuasteca-CenterAquismón , San Antonio , Tampamolón , Tancanhuitz de Santos , Tanlajás .Huasteca-SouthwestAxtla de Terrazas , Coxcatlán , Huehuetlán , Xilitla .Huasteca-SuresteMatlapa , Tampacán , Tamazunchale , San Martín Chalchicuautla .The usefulness then of the micro-regions will be to the extent that they manage to be the convening spaces for the sectoral policies that are implemented by the three levels of government and that in this way manage to transcend this articulation of sectoral policy and are accepted by the social and private sectors. .


San Luis Potosi Post


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here